University of Toronto


G20 Summits |  G20 Ministerials |  G20 Analysis |  Search |  About the G20 Research Group
[English]  [Français]  [Deutsch]  [Italiano]  [Portuguesa]  [Japanese]  [Chinese]  [Korean]  [Indonesian]

Munk School of Global Affairs

G20 Information Centre
provided by the G20 Research Group


Address by Nicolas Sarkozy, president of the French Republic:
Opening of the G20 Seminar on Reform of the International Monetary System

March 31, 2011, Nanking, China
[version française]

Ladies and Gentlemen, my dear friends,
Vice Premier,
Managing Director of the IMF,
Secretary-General of the OECD,
Ministers,
Governors,
Economics Nobel Prize laureate, Robert Mundell,
Professors,

I would like to tell you how happy I am to be with you today to open this seminar on reform of the international monetary system.

I would like to thank President Hu Jintao and all the Chinese authorities for welcoming us today in Nanking.

I had the opportunity yesterday during our meetings to again discuss France's priorities for the Presidency of the G20 with President Hu, and I noted that we share a similar vision of many essential topics for the future.
Vice Premier, thank you for agreeing to open this seminar.

Please allow me, first of all, to address my thoughts to the Japanese people and the solidarity we all feel for them in this particularly difficult time.

Vice Minister Tamaki, I would ask you to transmit to your Prime Minister the expression of our support and our solidarity.

The topic of concern to us today is crucial: building a more stable and more robust international monetary system is an enormous challenge, a collective challenge. This is why I was keen for Switzerland, Thailand and the Netherlands to join in our work, alongside the five guests already invited by the G20.

I would like to thank the China Centre for International Economic Exchanges, which worked to ensure that this meeting could take place under the best possible conditions.

I would also like to thank all the international organisations present today, the Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund, who has a crucial role to play in our discussions. I would also like to welcome the presence of eminent academics.

The G20 demonstrated its effectiveness in the recovery. Of course with this recovery there is a great temptation for each player to act solely for himself. During a crisis, the demand for coordination is strong. During recovery, the demand for coordination is less forthcoming. I am convinced that if we lose the impetus built up during the crisis, the world will, inevitably, fall back into instability and into crisis.

Nothing would be worse for the G20 than to act as if nothing happened and to give into the temptation of turning inward and adopting an attitude of every man for himself. This is particularly true in the monetary field. A few months ago, some commentators were talking of a currency war. Daily trends in the markets show us that currency volatility is still a source of very great instability.

France was keen for reform of the international monetary system to be a priority for the G20.

The international monetary system that we have inherited, based on floating exchange rates between the major monetary zones, has enabled us to absorb numerous shocks: oil shocks, financial crisis, debt crisis. It has also enabled the emergence of new reserve currencies. I am thinking, in particular, of the creation of the euro, which is the second leading reserve currency in the world.

But despite these successes, the international monetary system has also demonstrated its limits. It has not prevented the build-up of increasingly large international imbalances. In ten years, balance-of-payment disequilibriums have doubled. In ten years!

International capital movements have become more volatile. They expose the emerging countries to downturns that jeopardise their economic, social and even political stability. Since 1990, the world has undergone 42 crises resulting in sudden stops of capital flows in a country or zone. I would like to ask this question: How can the emerging countries manage their economic policy when they have been confronted, in a period of less than six months, with sudden capital outflows followed by massive inflows? How can anyone manage economic policy under such conditions? It's impossible.

Who could deny that the excessive volatility of currencies is harmful to growth and stability? Once again in this month of March we have experienced an exacerbation of volatility in the currency markets bearing no relation to economic fundamentals. The yen experienced unprecedented movements -- in March -, taking it to the highest level of appreciation against the dollar since the Second World War. In the space of barely three months, cher Tim, the euro/dollar parity rose from under 1.30 to over 1.40!

I ask this question: What changes in economic fundamentals can justify such sharp, rapid changes in parities between currencies? The answer is simple: there aren't any.

Faced with this instability, in an unstable world, what has happened? The need to accumulate reserves has grown. Ladies and gentlemen, between 2000 and 2009, the currency reserves of the central banks have done nothing less than double and now stand at 6.5 trillion dollars. They have doubled since the year 2000! The accumulation of currency reserves can be justified in certain cases, but it is also costly. The downside is poorly managed supply of reserve assets, which are insufficiently diversified.

Faced with this absolutely indisputable situation, there are two possible reactions: the every man for himself attitude -- and in this case, there will be a currency war hence new crises -- or cooperation and coordination.

The international monetary system must gradually, Vice Premier, evolve to reflect the major trends in the world economy that we have observed.

As major emerging countries of the G20, you alone represent almost one quarter of the world economy. In ten years' time, you will represent 50% of the global economy. The world is multipolar. This is why I was keen for this seminar to take place in China. This multipolar economic world calls for a multipolar monetary world.

The emerging countries account for a quarter of the global economy. In ten years' time, you will represent half of the global economy. Who could imagine that the economy could change that much and the monetary system would stay the same?

The G20 has taken these changes on board by reforming the governance of international financial institutions. But it must also take them into account when changing the organisation of the international monetary system.

We hope, ladies and gentlemen, that you will be able to arrive at a common diagnosis, because once we agree on a diagnosis, we can then carve out avenues for reform, together.

I would like to be clear about the ideas that the French Presidency of the G20 wishes to promote.

The idea today is not to return to a system of fixed or administered exchange rates. That would be a complete mistake and would mean taking a risk of very sharp adjustments and, finally, for the countries concerned, a loss of autonomy as concerns their economic policy. Nobody wants that to happen.

It is clear that we must evolve towards a more flexible exchange rate system. Why more flexible? So that it can withstand the shocks of the world economy. But this flexible exchange system cannot evolve without rules, without coordination, without supervision, since instability would prevail. Yet when there is no coordination, there are no rules and no supervision. Without rules, the international monetary and financial system is incapable of forestalling crises, financial bubbles and the widening of imbalances. Without rules and supervision, the world will suffer recurrent crises that are increasingly serious and severe. Over the last ten years, growth volatility has doubled.

It is because we are keen to move towards greater flexibility in exchange rates that we must define new rules of operation for the international monetary system. And if you don't do it, nobody will do it for you, for us. If we don't do this now, we'll have to deal with it when it is too late, in other words, when we are in the midst of major crises of the international system.

So what does this require? First and foremost, coordinating our economic policies within the G20. Reducing major imbalances is the major challenge of the Framework for Strong, Sustainable and Balanced Growth that we defined in Seoul.

In Paris, in February, under the chairmanship of Christine Lagarde, whom I would like to commend, you agreement was reached on the indicators for these imbalances. In April, in Washington, cher Tim, we will discuss the "main guidelines." And let there be no doubt about the commitment of the French Presidency to further advancing down this path.

I hope that we will rapidly reach agreement on the methods. And the method does not mean insulting each other, it does not mean criticizing each other. It does mean understanding each other's problems and knowing that our salvation lies in working together, not against one another. In Cannes, at the G20 Summit, I hope that we will reach agreement on this concerted strategy.

Moreover, I am convinced that the supervision exercised by the IMF must not only concern national economic policies, but also their impact on other countries, and in particular, through the financial channel.

The liberalisation of capital movements and flexible exchange rates is one of the established facts of the last 20 years.

The capital movements that ensure effective allocation of capital are accompanied by a greater risk of massive outgoing and incoming flows of capital that can have destabilising effects.

We may each be tempted to protect ourselves by means of unilateral measures. This means we must avoid two dangers. First, the naive belief that liberalisation of capital movements is sufficient to ensure economic equilibrium, whatever the circumstances. France does not share this idea. Let's not forget that the crisis in Asia in the 1990s was exclusively the result of unbridled -- I might even say doctrinaire -- liberalisation of financial flows!

The other danger to avoid is the risk that a proliferation of unilateral measures, precipitated by times of crisis, might lead to a new financial protectionism that would be harmful to all our economies.

We will avoid these dangers by adopting, unwaveringly, the path of multilateralism. A code of good conduct, strong guidelines and a common framework governing the possibility of implementing capital controls where necessary must define the conditions under which restrictions on capital movements are legitimate, effective and appropriate to a given situation.

If we agree on these rules, ladies and gentlemen, it will be a major evolution in the doctrine of the IMF, to the benefit of the emerging countries, which suffer from excessive volatility of capital movements. Is it reasonable, today, given the increasing impact of capital movements, that the IMF can issue recommendations to a country only as concerns its current account balance of payments and not concerning its capital account? I would like someone to explain to me why a recommendation about one is legitimate and a recommendation concerning the other is illegitimate. Expanding the supervision of the IMF to include these aspects strikes me as crucial. In the longer term, France -- and I'm saying this now - is favourable to a modification of the IMF's Articles of Agreement to broaden its supervision mandate. Yet if we decide on more coordination, more rules and more supervision, we then need to decide which organization is in charge of enforcing such rules and conducting such supervision. For France, it's clear. It's the IMF.

The 2008 crisis showed us how essential liquidity is to ensure satisfactory operation of the world economy. If it disappears, the whole of our financial and economic situation is put in peril. I am convinced that reform of the international monetary system is the natural extension of the reform of the international financial system that we have initiated with the new Basel III prudential framework. What use is Basel III if we ignore the monetary system? And who could think that regulating the financial system is sufficient without addressing the monetary system issue? That would make no sense.

We have taken decisions: monetary cooperation agreements and the exceptional allocation of $250 billion dollars in Special Drawing Rights (SDR), the third such initiative in the history of the IMF. I would like to take this opportunity to commend the Korean presidency.

However I believe that today we must give ourselves the wherewithal to consolidate such progress.
We first need to ask ourselves some questions. Are the liquidity instruments available to us appropriate? Everyone knows that we need liquidity, but do current instruments work? Who can answer yes to that question? Are they sufficiently flexible? Who thinks we should say they are? Are they reversible? Do we need to come up with other liquidity instruments? Should we expand their scope to be able to respond to a systemic crisis affecting an entire region instead of a country?

In recent years, regional liquidity support agreements have been set up. I am thinking of the Chiang Mai initiative in Asia, but also, more recently, of the euro zone instruments. Haven't we, the euro zone countries, joined together to create liquidity and address the crisis?

I would also like to see international organisations and development banks expand their actions.

We must also act to ensure that the accumulation of precautionary reserves we have seen in several regions of the world becomes less necessary. I mean that there is a risk of scarcity of reserve assets. We saw in the crisis, exceptional and contingent allocations of SDRs can be effective. I think it could also be useful to give the IMF the capacity to raise debt in the markets to meet the financing needs of countries in the event of a crisis -- with all the necessary safeguards to protect the Fund's resources.

We must accompany the inevitable internationalisation of the major global currencies. This does not of course mean, cher Tim, challenging the important role of the dollar, nobody would think of doing that-, and the euro, which must be stable currencies. But the internationalisation of some other currencies is already a reality, Vice Premier; I am thinking of course of the yuan and I welcome the ambition of the Chinese authorities in this respect.

But isn't it the time today to reach agreement on the timetable for enlarging the basket of SDRs to include new emerging currencies, such as the yuan? Who could deny the major role the yuan plays in the international monetary system? Tribute is thus paid to the economic power and the political power of China, a major monetary power.

Lastly, the recent events in Japan further demonstrate the importance of international coordination in the question of exchange rates. The action of the G7, chère Christine, on the yen enabled us to counter speculation disconnected from the fundamentals, which threatened to exacerbate the difficulties of our Japanese friends at a time when they are confronted with events of extraordinary gravity. What happened was unacceptable.

Concerted intervention is an essential way of protecting the international monetary system against deviation and excessive volatility. It is, of course, an instrument of last resort, but it is only effective if it is used in a genuinely coordinated manner.

This is what the G7 is for. But China is not a member of the G7. Is it normal that there isn't a forum in which all the major currencies can discuss the international monetary system together? Isn't it time to think about establishing one?

Ladies and Gentlemen,

For 2011 to mark a decisive milestone in the reform of the international monetary system, the French Presidency of the G20 expects a great deal from your discussions. I am well aware that we will not resolve all the problems in one year, and the Vice Premier is right, but we must make progress starting today if we wish to avoid new crises or new summits in which surplus countries pit themselves against deficit countries, or in which deficit countries denounce surplus countries. What can we expect to gain from such discussions? Nothing. Nothing but new crises. The Seoul G20 Summit entrusted us with a mandate, for which I am responsible as President of the G20. I know it's difficult, I know we can't reform a system that dates back to Bretton Woods just like that, but ladies and gentlemen, if we don't do it, nobody will. If we don't do it now, it will be much more difficult to do in the future. Let's agree on a diagnosis, let's start working together. If we coordinate our policies, we will be able to respect our sovereignty over our economies. And if there is no coordination, there will be the pressure of speculation and crises, which will in turn compromise the sovereignty over our economies. You can see that France has considerable ambitions for your seminar, but I'm sure that given the quality of participation, it will yield outstanding results.

Thank you.

Source: French presidency of the G8-G20

[top]


This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library
and the G20 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g20@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated April 10, 2011 .

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.

University of Toronto


G20 Summits |  G20 Ministerials |  G20 Analysis |  Search |  About the G20 Research Group
[English]  [Français]  [Deutsch]  [Italiano]  [Portuguesa]  [Japanese]  [Chinese]  [Korean]  [Indonesian]

Munk School of Global Affairs

G20 Information Centre
provided by the G20 Research Group


2011 G20 Finance Ministerials

Discours de M. le Président Nicolas Sarkozy :
ouverture du séminaire du G20 sur la réforme du système monétaire international

31 mars 2011, Nankin (Chine)
[English Version]

Mesdames et Messieurs, mes chers amis,
Monsieur le Vice-Premier Ministre,
Monsieur le Directeur Général du FMI,
Monsieur le Secrétaire Général de l'OCDE,
Mesdames et Messieurs les Ministres,
Messieurs les Gouverneurs,
Monsieur le Prix Nobel d'économie, cher Robert MUNDELL,
Mesdames et Messieurs les Professeurs,

Je voudrais vous dire combien je suis heureux d'être parmi vous pour ouvrir ce séminaire sur la réforme du système international.

Je tiens à remercier le Président HU ainsi que l'ensemble des autorités chinoises de nous accueillir aujourd'hui à Nankin.

J'ai eu l'occasion d'évoquer avec le Président HU les priorités de la France pour la présidence du G20 hier encore lors de nos entretiens, et j'ai pu constater que nous partagions une même vision sur de nombreux sujets essentiels pour l'avenir.

Monsieur le Vice-Premier ministre, je vous remercie d'avoir accepté d'ouvrir ce séminaire.

Vous me permettrez d'avoir d'abord une pensée pour le peuple japonais dont nous sommes tous solidaires dans ce moment particulièrement difficile.

Cher Monsieur le Vice-Ministre TAMAKI, je vous prie de bien vouloir transmettre à votre Premier ministre l'expression de notre soutien et de notre solidarité.

Le sujet qui nous réunit aujourd'hui est crucial : construire un système monétaire international plus stable, plus résistant, c'est un immense enjeu et un enjeu collectif. C'est pourquoi j'ai souhaité, qu'en plus des cinq invités du G20, la Suisse, la Thaïlande et les Pays-Bas soient également associés à nos travaux.

Je remercie le Centre chinois pour les échanges économiques internationaux qui s'est mobilisé pour que cette rencontre ait lieu dans les meilleures conditions.

Je tiens à remercier l'ensemble des organisations internationales présentes, le directeur général du Fonds monétaire qui a un rôle essentiel à jouer dans cette réflexion. Et je salue la présence d'éminents universitaires.

Le G20 a démontré son efficacité dans la reprise. Naturellement, avec cette reprise, la tentation du chacun pour soi est forte. Dans la crise, l'exigence de coordination est forte. Dans la reprise, l'exigence de coordination est moins immédiate. Ma conviction, c'est que si nous perdons l'élan que nous avons insufflé au moment de la crise, le monde retombera inexorablement dans l'instabilité et dans les crises.

Rien ne serait pire, pour le G20, que de faire comme s'il ne s'était rien passé et de céder à la tentation du repli sur soi et du chacun pour soi. Et c'est particulièrement vrai dans le domaine monétaire. Il y a quelques mois, les commentateurs parlaient de guerre des monnaies. L'évolution quotidienne des marchés nous montre que la volatilité des monnaies reste une source de très forte instabilité.

La France a souhaité que la réforme du système monétaire international soit une priorité du G20.

Le système monétaire international dont nous avons hérité, fondé sur des taux de change flottants entre les grandes zones monétaires, a permis d'absorber de nombreux chocs : choc pétrolier, crise financière, crise de la dette. Il a aussi permis l'émergence de nouvelles monnaies de réserve. Je pense en particulier à l'euro qui est la deuxième monnaie de réserve dans le monde.

Mais en dépit de ces réussites, notre système monétaire international a montré ses limites. Il n'a pas empêché l'accumulation de déséquilibres internationaux toujours plus grands. En 10 ans, les déséquilibres de balance des paiements ont été multipliés par deux. En 10 ans !

Les mouvements internationaux de capitaux sont devenus plus volatils. Ils exposent les pays émergents à des retournements qui mettent en péril leur stabilité économique, sociale et même politique. Depuis 1990, le monde a connu 42 crises d'arrêt brutal des flux de capitaux, dans un pays ou dans une zone. Je veux poser cette question : comment les pays émergents peuvent-ils conduire leur politique économique quand ils sont confrontés, en moins de six mois, à des retraits massifs suivis d'entrées massives de capitaux ? Comment peut-on conduire une politique économique dans ces conditions ? C'est impossible.

Qui peut contester que la volatilité excessive des monnaies soit préjudiciable à la croissance et à la stabilité ? Ce mois de mars a encore été le théâtre d'une volatilité exacerbée sur le marché des changes, sans aucun lien avec les fondamentaux économiques. Le yen a subi des mouvements sans précédents -- au mois de mars --, atteignant son plus haut historique d'appréciation face au dollar depuis la Seconde Guerre mondiale. En à peine trois mois, la parité, cher Tim, euro/dollar est passée de moins de 1,30 à plus de 1,40 !

Je pose la question : quels changements dans les fondamentaux économiques peuvent-ils justifier des évolutions aussi brutales et aussi rapides des parités monétaires ? La réponse est simple : il n'y en a pas.

Pour faire face à cette instabilité, devant ce monde instable, qu'est-ce qui se passe ? Le besoin d'accumulation de réserves de change s'est accru. Mesdames et Messieurs, les réserves de change des banques centrales n'ont rien moins que doublé entre 2000 et 2009 pour atteindre aujourd'hui 6 500 milliards de dollars. Doublé depuis 2000 ! L'accumulation de réserves de change peut être justifiée dans certains cas, mais elle est très coûteuse. Elle trouve son pendant dans une offre d'actifs de réserve mal maîtrisée, pas assez diversifiée.

Face à cette situation qui est absolument incontestable, il y a deux réactions possibles : le chacun pour soi, et dans ce cas-là, ça sera la guerre des monnaies et la guerre des monnaies, ce sont de nouvelles crises ; soit la coopération et la coordination. Nous n'avons pas le choix. La guerre des monnaies, la crise ou la coordination et la coopération.

Le système monétaire international doit progressivement, Monsieur le Vice-Premier ministre, refléter les évolutions majeures de l'économie mondiale que nous avons constatées.

Les grands pays émergents du G20, vous représentez à vous seuls près d'un quart de l'économie mondiale. Dans 10 ans, vous représenterez 50% de l'économie mondiale. Le monde est multipolaire. C'est pourquoi j'ai tenu à ce que ce séminaire ait lieu en Chine. A ce monde économique multipolaire doit correspondre un monde monétaire multi-monétaire. Les pays émergents, c'est le quart de l'économie mondiale. Dans dix ans, vous serez la moitié de l'économie mondiale. Qui peut imaginer que l'économie change à ce point et que le système monétaire soit immobile ?

Le G20 a pris en compte ces évolutions en réformant la gouvernance des institutions financières internationales. Mais le G20 doit prendre en compte ces évolutions en modifiant l'organisation du système monétaire international.

Notre ambition, Mesdames et Messieurs, c'est que vous puissiez arriver à un diagnostic commun, car quand nous serons d'accord sur le diagnostic, alors nous pourrons élaborer ensemble des pistes de réforme.

Je veux être clair sur les idées que la présidence française du G20 souhaite promouvoir.

Il ne s'agit pas aujourd'hui de revenir vers un système de change fixe ou de change administré. Ce serait une erreur complète, ce serait prendre le risque d'ajustements brutaux et, in fine, pour les pays concernés, de la perte de l'autonomie de leur politique économique. Personne n'en veut.

Il est clair que nous devons évoluer vers un système de change plus flexible. Pourquoi plus flexible ? Pour qu'il puisse résister aux chocs de l'économie mondiale. Mais ce système de change flexible ne peut pas évoluer sans règles, il ne peut pas évoluer sans coordination, il ne peut pas évoluer sans surveillance, sinon c'est l'instabilité. Or, il n'y a pas de coordination, il n'y a pas de règles et il n'y a pas de surveillance. Sans règles, le système monétaire et financier international est incapable de prévenir les crises, les bulles financières, le creusement des déséquilibres. Sans règles, sans surveillance, le monde sera condamné à des crises récurrentes de plus en plus sévères et de plus en plus graves. Depuis 10 ans, la volatilité de la croissance a été multipliée par deux.

C'est parce que nous souhaitons évoluer vers plus de flexibilité des taux de changes que nous devons fixer de nouvelles règles de fonctionnement au système monétaire international. Et si vous ne vous en occupez pas, personne ne le fera à votre place, à notre place. Et si on ne s'en occupe pas maintenant, nous serons obligés de nous en occuper quand il sera trop tard, c'est-à-dire en plein cœur de crises majeures du système international.

Alors cela exige quoi ? D'abord une coordination de nos politiques économiques au sein du G20. Parvenir à réduire les déséquilibres importants, c'est tout l'enjeu du Cadre pour une croissance forte, soutenable et équilibrée que nous avons défini à Séoul.

À Paris, au mois de février, sous la présidence de Christine LAGARDE, à laquelle je veux rendre hommage, un accord a été trouvé sur les indicateurs de déséquilibres. En avril, à Washington, cher Tim, nous discuterons des « lignes directrices ». Et que personne ne doute de la volonté de la présidence française de continuer à avancer sur ce chemin.

Je souhaite que nous puissions nous mettre d'accord rapidement sur des méthodes. Et la méthode, cela ne veut pas dire s'insulter les uns les autres, cela ne veut pas dire se reprocher les uns les autres, cela veut dire comprendre les problèmes de chacun et savoir qu'il n'y a de salut que tous ensemble, pas les uns contre les autres. À Cannes, au Sommet du G20, je souhaite que nous nous mettions d'accord sur une stratégie concertée.

Au-delà, je suis convaincu que la surveillance exercée par le FMI doit non seulement porter sur les politiques économiques nationales, mais aussi sur leur impact sur les autres pays, en particulier par le canal financier.

La libéralisation des mouvements de capitaux comme la flexibilité des changes sont un des acquis des 20 dernières années.

Les mouvements de capitaux, qui permettent d'assurer l'allocation efficace du capital, s'accompagnent de risques plus élevés de retraits ou d'entrées massives de capitaux qui peuvent se révéler déstabilisateurs.

Chacun peut être tenté de s'en protéger par des mesures unilatérales. Au fond, nous devons éviter deux écueils. Le premier, c'est la croyance naïve que la libéralisation des mouvements de capitaux suffit à l'équilibre économique, quelles que soient les circonstances. La France ne partage pas cette analyse.

Souvenons-nous que la crise en Asie à la fin des années 1990 a résulté exclusivement d'une libéralisation à marche forcée et, qu'il me soit permis de le dire, une libéralisation doctrinaire des flux financiers !

L'autre écueil à éviter, c'est le risque qu'une multiplication de mesures unilatérales, précipitée par les temps de crise, n'aboutisse à un nouveau protectionnisme financier dont toutes les économies souffriraient.

Nous éviterons ces écueils en adoptant résolument la voie du multilatéralisme, la voie d'un libéralisme coopératif et vigilant. Un code de bonne conduite, des lignes directrices, un cadre commun régissant la possibilité de mettre en œuvre des contrôles de capitaux en cas de besoin, doivent fixer les conditions dans lesquelles des restrictions aux mouvements de capitaux sont légitimes, efficaces et adaptées à une situation.

Si nous nous accordons, Mesdames et Messieurs, sur ces règles, mais ce sera une évolution majeure de la doctrine du FMI, au bénéfice des pays émergents qui souffrent de la volatilité excessive des mouvements de capitaux. Mais est-il raisonnable aujourd'hui, compte tenu de l'impact croissant des mouvements de capitaux, que le FMI ne puisse faire des recommandations à un pays que sur sa balance des paiements courants et non pas sur la balance des capitaux ? J'aimerais qu'on m'explique pourquoi serait légitime une recommandation sur l'un et illégitime, une recommandation sur l'autre. Un élargissement de la surveillance du FMI à ces domaines me semble indispensable. À terme, la France -- je le dis -- est favorable à une modification des statuts du FMI pour élargir sa capacité de surveillance. Car si nous décidons plus de coordination, plus de règles, plus de surveillance, il faut bien que nous décidions quelle sera l'instance en charge de mettre en œuvre ces règles et cette surveillance. Pour la France c'est clair, c'est le FMI.

La crise de 2008 nous a montré à quel point la liquidité était indispensable pour assurer le bon fonctionnement de l'économie mondiale. Qu'elle disparaisse, et c'est l'ensemble de notre système qui est mis en péril. Je suis convaincu que la réforme du système monétaire international est le prolongement naturel de la réforme du système financier international que nous avons engagée avec le cadre prudentiel Bâle III. A quoi cela sert-il de faire Bâle III, si on ignore le système monétaire ? Mais qui peut croire que réguler le marché financier est suffisant sans se préoccuper du système monétaire ? Cela n'aurait aucun sens.

Alors nous avons pris des décisions : les accords de coopération monétaire, l'allocation exceptionnelle de 250 milliards de dollars de DTS, la troisième de l'histoire du FMI. Je veux rendre hommage, d'ailleurs, à la présidence coréenne.

Mais nous devons aujourd'hui nous donner les moyens de consolider ces avancées.

Il s'agit de nous poser certaines questions. Est-ce que les instruments de liquidité à notre disposition sont adaptés ? Tout le monde sait qu'on a besoin de liquidités, mais est-ce que les instruments d'aujourd'hui sont adaptés ? Qui pourrait répondre oui ? Sont-ils suffisamment flexibles ? Qui s'aviserait de répondre oui ? Sont-ils réversibles ? Faut-il créer d'autres éléments de liquidité ? Faut-il les élargir pour être à même de répondre à une crise systémique qui toucherait toute une région et non pas un pays ?

Au cours des années récentes, des accords régionaux de soutien à la liquidité ont été créés. Je pense à l'initiative Chiang Mai en Asie, mais plus récemment aux instruments de la zone Euro. Nous-mêmes les pays de la zone euro, qu'est-ce que nous avons fait si ce n'est nous mettre ensemble pour créer de la liquidité et répondre à la crise ?

Je souhaite que les organisations internationales et les banques de développement amplifient leurs actions.

Nous devons également faire en sorte que l'accumulation de réserves de précaution que nous constatons dans plusieurs régions du monde devienne moins nécessaire. Je veux dire qu'il y a un risque de pénurie d'actifs de réserve. Nous l'avons vu dans la crise, des allocations exceptionnelles et contingentes de DTS peuvent être efficaces. Mais il me semble qu'il serait utile de doter le FMI de la capacité de s'endetter sur les marchés pour faire face à des besoins de financement des pays en cas de crise -- avec tous les garde-fous nécessaires pour protéger les ressources du Fonds.

Nous devons accompagner l'internationalisation inéluctable des grandes monnaies mondiales. Mais il ne s'agit pas bien sûr, cher Tim, de remettre en cause le rôle éminent du dollar ce serait inconséquent, personne n'y pense --, de même que le rôle de l'euro, qui doivent être des monnaies stables. Mais l'internationalisation de certaines autres monnaies est déjà une réalité, Monsieur le Vice-Premier ministre ; je pense bien sûr au yuan et je salue l'ambition des autorités chinoises dans ce domaine.

Mais n'est-il pas temps aujourd'hui, de s'accorder sur le calendrier de l'élargissement du panier du DTS à de nouvelles monnaies émergentes, comme le yuan ? Qui pourrait contester le rôle majeur du yuan dans le fonctionnement du système monétaire international ? Hommage est ainsi rendu à la puissance économique et à la puissance politique de la Chine, grande puissance monétaire.

Enfin, les événements récents au Japon nous démontrent encore l'importance de la coordination internationale en matière de taux de change. L'action du G7, chère Christine, sur le yen a permis de contrer une spéculation déconnectée des fondamentaux qui menaçait d'accroitre les difficultés de nos amis Japonais alors qu'ils sont confrontés à des événements d'une rare gravité. C'était inadmissible, ce qui s'est passé.

Les interventions concertées constituent un moyen de sauvegarde indispensable du système monétaire international contre les déviations et la volatilité excessive. C'est bien sûr un instrument de dernier recours, mais il n'est efficace que s'il est utilisé de façon coordonnée.

Le G7 existe pour cela. Mais la Chine ne fait pas partie du G7. Et est-il normal que nous n'ayons pas une instance où toutes les grandes puissances monétaires pourraient parler ensemble du système monétaire international ? Est-ce qu'il n'est pas venu le temps de l'imaginer ?

Mesdames et Messieurs,

Afin que 2011 puisse marquer une étape décisive dans la réforme du système monétaire international, la présidence française du G20 attend beaucoup de vos débats. J'ai bien conscience que nous ne résoudrons pas tous les problèmes en un an, et le Vice-Premier ministre a raison, mais nous devons avancer dès aujourd'hui si nous voulons éviter de nouvelles crises ou de nouveaux sommets où les pays en excédent s'opposent aux pays en déficit, où les pays en déficit dénoncent les pays en excédent. Qu'est-ce qu'il y a à attendre de ces discussions ? Rien. Rien, si ce n'est de nouvelles crises. Le G20 de Séoul nous a confié un mandat, dont je suis comptable en tant que président du G20. Je sais que c'est difficile, je sais qu'on ne réforme pas un système qui date de Bretton Woods comme cela, mais, Mesdames et Messieurs, si on ne s'en occupe pas, personne ne s'en occupera. Si on ne le fait pas maintenant, ce sera encore beaucoup plus difficile de le faire demain. Mettons-nous d'accord sur un diagnostic, commençons à travailler ensemble et c'est parce que nous coordonnerons nos politiques que nous pourrons respecter notre souveraineté sur nos économies. Et c'est parce qu'il n'y aura pas de coordination qu'il y aura la pression de la spéculation et des crises, et que c'est là, alors, que sera mise en cause la souveraineté sur nos économies. Vous le voyez, la France fixe à votre séminaire une grande ambition, mais la qualité de la participation, je suis sûr, permettra d'obtenir de grands résultats.

Je vous remercie.

Source: Présidence française du G8-G20

[en haut]


This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library
and the G20 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g20@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated April 10, 2011 .

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.