University of Toronto


G20 Summits |  G20 Ministerials |  G20 Analysis |  Search |  About the G20 Research Group
[English]  [Français]  [Deutsch]  [Italiano]  [Portuguesa]  [Japanese]  [Chinese]  [Korean]  [Indonesian]

Munk School of Global Affairs

G20 Information Centre
provided by the G20 Research Group


2011 G20 Finance Ministerials

Communiqué of the
G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors

Washington DC, September 23, 2011
[pdf] [Version française]

We, the Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors of the G-20 are committed to a strong and coordinated international response to address the renewed challenges facing the global economy, notably heightened downside risks from sovereign stresses, financial system fragility, market turbulence, weak economic growth and unacceptably high unemployment. 

We are taking strong actions to maintain financial stability, restore confidence and support growth. In Europe, Euro area countries have taken major actions to ensure the sustainability of public finances, and are implementing the decisions taken by Euro area Leaders on 21 July 2011. Specifically, the euro area will have implemented by the time of our next meeting the necessary actions to increase the flexibility of the EFSF and to maximize its impact in order to address contagion. The US has put forward a significant package to strengthen growth and employment through public investments, tax incentives, and targeted jobs measures, combined with fiscal reforms designed to restore fiscal sustainability over the medium term. Japan is implementing substantial fiscal measures for reconstruction from the earthquake while ensuring the commitment to medium-term fiscal consolidation. Heightened downside risks have also made the economic environment for emerging markets and developing economies more challenging and they are adjusting their macro-economic policies accordingly to maintain stability and sustain growth. The contribution of the emerging market economies to global growth will increase as these economies as a whole move towards more domestic led growth, including through structural reforms and enhanced exchange rate flexibility to reflect economic fundamentals. We reiterate that excess volatility and disorderly movements in exchange rates have adverse implications for economic and financial stability.

We are committed to supporting growth, implementing credible fiscal consolidation plans, and ensuring strong, sustainable and balanced growth. This will require a collective and bold action plan, with everyone doing their part. We are working together to put in place for the Cannes Summit such an action plan of coordinated policies with both short term decisions and a medium-long term perspective. 

We commit to take all necessary actions to preserve the stability of banking systems and financial markets as required. We will ensure that banks are adequately capitalized and have sufficient access to funding to deal with current risks and that they fully implement Basel III along the agreed timelines. Central Banks will continue to stand ready to provide liquidity to banks as required. Monetary policies will maintain price stability and continue to support economic recovery. 

We will review progress made in implementing the commitments made today at our next meeting.

Source: Ministère de l'Économie, des Finances et de l'Industrie de la République française


This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library
and the G20 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g20@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated October 15, 2011 .

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.

University of Toronto


G20 Summits |  G20 Ministerials |  G20 Analysis |  Search |  About the G20 Research Group
[English]  [Français]  [Deutsch]  [Italiano]  [Portuguesa]  [Japanese]  [Chinese]  [Korean]  [Indonesian]

Munk School of Global Affairs

G20 Information Centre
provided by the G20 Research Group


2011 G20 Finance Ministerials

Communiqué des Ministres des Finances et Gouverneurs
de banque centrale du G20

Washington DC, 23 septembre 2011
[pdf] [English Version]

Nous, ministres des finances et gouverneurs des banques centrales du G20, nous engageons à apporter une réponse internationale forte et coordonnée pour traiter les défis renouvelés que rencontre l’économie mondiale, notamment les risques accrus de détérioration liés aux dettes souveraines, à un système financier fragilisé, aux turbulences sur les marchés, à la faible croissance économique et à un niveau de chômage inacceptable.

Nous agissons résolument pour maintenir la stabilité financière, restaurer la confiance et soutenir la croissance. Les pays de la zone euro ont pris des mesures essentielles pour assurer la soutenabilité des finances publiques et mettent en œuvre les décisions prises par leurs dirigeants le 21 juillet 2011. De manière spécifique, les pays de la zone euro auront mis en œuvre d’ici notre prochaine réunion les mesures nécessaires permettant d’accroitre la flexibilité du Fonds européen de stabilité financière et de maximiser son impact pour éviter la contagion. Les Etats-Unis ont annoncé un plan substantiel destiné à renforcer la croissance et l’emploi au moyen d’investissements publics, d’incitations fiscales et de mesures ciblées pour soutenir l’emploi, conjointement avec des mesures de réforme budgétaire visant à restaurer la viabilité des finances publiques à moyen terme. Le Japon met en œuvre des mesures budgétaires substantielles pour la reconstruction liée au tremblement de terre tout en respectant son engagement de consolidation budgétaire à moyen terme. Les risques baissiers accrus ont également rendu l’environnement économique des pays émergents ou en développement plus difficile et ils ajustent leurs politiques macroéconomiques pour maintenir la stabilité et soutenir la croissance. La contribution des économies émergentes à la croissance mondiale continuera d’augmenter avec l’évolution de ces économies dans leur ensemble vers une croissance plus tirée par la demande intérieure, y compris via des réformes structurelles et une flexibilité accrue des taux de change pour refléter les fondamentaux économiques. Nous réitérons qu’une volatilité excessive et des mouvements désordonnés des taux de change ont des implications néfastes pour la stabilité économique et financière.

Nous sommes déterminés à soutenir la croissance, mettre en œuvre des plans de consolidation budgétaire crédibles et assurer une croissance forte, durable et équilibrée. Cela nécessitera un plan d’action collectif ambitieux, dans lequel chacun aura son rôle à jouer. Nous œuvrons conjointement à la mise sur pied de ce plan d’action avant le sommet de Cannes, sur la base de politiques coordonnées incluant à la fois des décisions à court terme et des perspectives à moyen et long terme.

Nous nous engageons à prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires pour préserver la stabilité des systèmes bancaires et des marchés financiers, en tant que de besoin. Nous assurerons que les banques disposent d’un capital adéquat et ont un accès suffisant aux financements pour faire face aux risques actuels et qu’elles mettent en œuvre dans leur intégralité et dans les délais convenus l’accord de Bâle III. Les banques centrales continueront de se tenir prête à fournir aux banques les liquidités nécessaires. Les politiques monétaires maintiendront la stabilité des prix et continueront de soutenir la reprise économique.

Nous examinerons à notre prochaine réunion les progrès réalisés dans la mise en œuvre des engagements que nous prenons aujourd’hui.

Source: Ministère de l'Économie, des Finances et de l'Industrie de la République française


This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library
and the G20 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g20@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated October 15, 2011 .

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.