University of Toronto

G20 Information Centre
G20 Summits |  G20 Ministerials |  G20 Analysis |  Search |  G8 Information Centre
[English]  [Français]  [Deutsch]  [Italiano]  [Portuguesa]  [Japanese]  [Chinese]  [Korean]  [Indonesian]

Munk School of Global Affairs

G20 Information Centre
provided by the G20 Research Group


2011 G20 Finance Ministerials

Preliminary Report on the G20 Action Plan on Development: Summary by the French Presidency

G20 Ministerial Meeting on Development
Washington DC, September 23, 2011
[pdf] [Version française]

See also Communiqué

At the invitation of the French Presidency, the first G20 ministerial meeting on development was held in Washington, D.C. on Friday, September 23 with the ministers of finance and the ministers responsible for development cooperation.

In addition to financing for development and climate change, including innovative financing and taxation of financial transactions, the meeting addressed the implementation of the G20 development action plan.

The recommendations discussed by the ministers were based on the preliminary report of the G20 Development Working Group summarized below.

********

The G20 development agenda is central to the issues facing the G20. Development issues and global economic issues can no longer be treated in isolation. In recent decades, globalization has helped lift millions of people out of extreme poverty; it has contributed to create jobs in numerous developing countries; and it has been a key factor in the economic emergence of a growing number of these countries. However, during the same period, other countries have fallen behind, and inequalities have tended to grow; the gap between the average income of the 20 richest countries and the poorest countries of the world has doubled, with the income of the richest group now representing more than 30 times the income of the poorest countries.

As the primary forum for global economic cooperation, the G20 approaches development from an economic growth standpoint. In developing countries, economic growth is the main engine for reducing poverty and narrowing prosperity gaps at the global level. It is also a prerequisite for achieving the Millennium Development Goals. At a time when economic uncertainties regarding world growth are on the rise, and global imbalances must be eliminated, economic growth can contribute to global economic recovery by creating new focal points of growth and helping to reduce disparities.

The decisions discussed and proposed by ministers are likewise key components of this agenda. They are designed to overcome obstacles that stand in the way of strong, balanced growth in developing countries, in particular low-income countries, while enhancing resilience in those economies.

Among the proposals, the French Presidency welcomes the collective progress achieved with respect to the two priorities identified this year—namely, infrastructure and food security—as well as in the areas of social protection, migrant transfers, and inclusive finance, which are matters of concern to the most vulnerable people.

********

Infrastructure gaps, particularly for energy and transportation, are major obstacles to economic activity and development in developing countries. Insufficient investment in infrastructure deprives the economies of sub-Saharan Africa of two percentage points of growth each year.

To improve the situation of developing countries and allow for strong and broadly based growth, in particular for the poorest countries, an integrated, innovative approach has been adopted, resulting in these proposals to the Leaders, as discussed by the Ministers:

The G20 has requested the implementation of a joint action plan for the multilateral development banks (key stakeholders). The project is intended to improve the functioning of the multilateral development banks and enhance their capacity to finance infrastructure requirements through internal measures aimed at strengthening support for regional projects, improving the harmonization of procedures to facilitate cofinancing arrangements, and making better use of project preparation funds. The plan also proposes measures to promote public-private partnerships, establish more precise analysis of priority infrastructure needs, and increase transparency in construction contracts through the adoption of a CoST Initiative based on work done in the mining sector (Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative—EITI).

A high-level panel on infrastructure was set up early this year. This panel, chaired by Tidjane Thiam, President and Managing Director of the Prudential insurance company and former planning minister of Côte d’Ivoire, brings together international experts mainly from the private sector. The preliminary policies discussed in the panel’s report, to be presented in Cannes, are designed to improve the business climate as a way to promote public and private investment in infrastructure in developing countries, diversify and enhance sources of financing, and develop financial instruments. The panel is tasked to identify, in consultation with the multilateral development banks, exemplary infrastructure projects, on the basis of selection criteria pertaining to the regional scope of such projects, their spinoff effects on growth and sustainable development, and their attractiveness to the private sector.

********

The development of trade and regional integration is a critical factor in promoting economic development and private investment in developing countries, especially in the least developed countries (LDCs). The main measures proposed in this area concern Africa specifically. They are intended to build the capacity of the regional economic communities and to help develop the trading capacity of low-income countries, particularly the LDCs (trade assistance, trade financing, trade facilitation, and support for the creation of a trade finance facility within the AfDB).

Following the report requested from international organizations, including United Nations agencies, the World Bank Group, and the OECD, it is proposed to support the implementation of principles for responsible investment in developing countries. In this regard, a series of indicators will be tested in pilot projects in six developing countries to measure the impact of private investment projects (particularly in terms of creation of local added value and local jobs).

An “innovation challenge” will be launched at the Cannes summit to identify and reward innovative private investment projects in developing countries.

********

The mobilization of domestic tax resources is essential to progress in developing countries: development finance, affirmation of democracy and government accountability, resilience to shocks that gives local authorities fiscal space for countercyclical measures, and development of an adequate tax base to maintain infrastructure and borrowing capacity. The proposed measures are intended to provide more support for tax administration capacities in developing countries and increase the transparency and accountability of donors and lenders, recipient countries, and private firms alike. Multinational firms are urged to increase their transparency and compliance with tax laws. It also proposed to support the program recently launched by the competent multilateral organizations to assist developing countries in drafting and enforcing their laws, particularly in the area of transfer pricing.

G20 and other countries are encouraged to promote mechanisms and standards to increase the transparency of multinationals’ contributions to governments, as the EITI does in the mining sector. The Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes is strongly urged to develop a platform to provide technical assistance to developing countries in the area of tax information exchange. Finally, countries are invited to sign the Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters.

********

The dramatic situation in the Horn of Africa has underscored, once again, the challenges of ensuring food security in certain regions of the world. Feeding the world’s nine billion inhabitants in 2050 will require the doubling of agricultural production in developing countries.

Observing that the agricultural sector has not received adequate support for the past 20 years, we recommend that investment in the agricultural sector be increased through the mobilization of international development assistance and national budget resources as well as private investment. The shared objective is to increase agricultural production and productivity.

Following the meeting of the G20 agriculture ministers last June, the work on development allowed to move forward on the following main axes:

(i) Scaling up of initiatives to improve nutrition through targeted actions but also by including this priority in poverty reduction strategies and development policies. In addition, increasing national and regional emergency food reserves was identified as a key requirement to mitigate the impact of food crises on the most vulnerable people, as in the pilot project to be led by the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) with the support of the World Food Programme (WFP) to develop a regional system of emergency food reserves.

(ii) Improvement of research and innovation, in particular through the implementation of a joint research platform on tropical agriculture, proposed during the recent Montpellier conference. The platform is expected to strengthen North-South, South-South and triangular cooperation and knowledge sharing.

(iii) Promotion of efforts to develop responsible agricultural investment, particularly through the ongoing work of the Committee on World Food Security and of FAO to establish voluntary guidelines for land management.

(iv) Finalization at the level of MDBs of a joint multiannual Action Plan to increase their interventions in the agricultural sector, of which the first guidelines have been presented.

(v) Improved protections against excessive price volatility for the most vulnerable population groups through risk management strategies and instruments such as the countercyclical loans developed by the Agence Française de Développement, insurance instruments, and hedging against risks (climate, price, harvests, and stocks). Multilateral development banks, including the IFC, are invited to finalize an action plan to expand these tools and promote their inclusion in national and regional action plans for agricultural development. Finally, WFP is requested to develop a risk cover strategy to hedge against excessive food price increases.

(vi) Support to small producers in particular, by including them in school meal development programs or public-private partnerships, with special attention to women.

(vii) Continuation of the dialogue initiated with the private sector, including the World Economic Forum, to increase private investment and develop public-private partnerships in the agricultural sector.

********

The effects of the global economic crisis have fallen disproportionately on the most vulnerable, and in a context of heightened economic risk there is an increasing need to develop mechanisms to offer greater protection and ensure a more inclusive path toward growth.

In this perspective, the G20 proposals are intended to:

(i) Support the creation or development of domestic social protection platforms in developing countries;

(ii) Agree on a shared objective of reducing the cost of migrant remittances so as to reduce average costs to 5 percent by 2014. Achieving this objective will generate an additional $15 billion for people in developing countries;

(iii) Implement an action plan for financial inclusion incorporating key measures to promote access to credit for SMEs, to benefit especially of women and small holder agricultural producers.

********

The Washington meeting was the first G20 ministerial meeting on development and underscored the G20’s added value in this area. The diversity of the G20 countries and the complementarity of their economic development and international cooperation experiences will be leveraged through the development of knowledge sharing platforms and triangular cooperation, especially in the areas of social protection, agriculture, and professional training.

The challenge of development is both a shared concern for all the G20 countries and a shared commitment. The objective is to set milestones for a global, innovative partnership for development that incorporates civil society and the private sector. This is the message we will bring to the Fourth High-Level Forum on Aid Effectiveness later this year in Busan, Korea.

Source: Ministère de l'Économie, des Finances et de l'Industrie de la République française

[back to top]


This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library
and the G20 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g20@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated September 24, 2011 .

All contents copyright © 2014. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.

University of Toronto


G20 Summits |  G20 Ministerials |  G20 Analysis |  Search |  About the G20 Research Group
[English]  [Français]  [Deutsch]  [Italiano]  [Portuguesa]  [Japanese]  [Chinese]  [Korean]  [Indonesian]

Munk School of Global Affairs

G20 Information Centre
provided by the G20 Research Group


2011 G20 Finance Ministerials

Rapport préliminaire sur le plan d’action du G20
sur le développement :
Résumé de la présidence française

Réunion ministérielle du G20 sur le développement
Washington DC, 23 septembre 2011
[pdf] [English Version]

Voir aussie Communiqué

A l’invitation de la présidence française, la première réunion ministérielle du G20 sur le développement, s’est tenue à Washington le vendredi 23 septembre avec les Ministres des finances et les Ministres en charge de la coopération.

Outre le financement du développement et du changement climatique, y compris les financements innovants et la taxation sur les transactions financières cette réunion a porté sur la mise en oeuvre du plan d’action développement du G20.

Les recommandations discutées par les Ministres sont issues du rapport préliminaire du groupe de travail sur le développement du G20 dont un résumé est présenté ci-dessous.

********

L’agenda du développement du G20 est au cœur des problématiques du G20. Les questions de développement et les questions économiques globales ne peuvent, en effet, plus être traitées séparément. Au cours des dernières décennies, la mondialisation a contribué à la sortie de l’extrême pauvreté de millions de personnes, elle a été à l’origine de la création d’emplois dans de nombreux pays en développement et a favorisé l’émergence économique d’un nombre croissant ce ces pays. Mais sur la même période, d’autres pays n’ont pas bénéficié de ces progrès et les inégalités tendent à croître : l’écart entre le revenu moyen des 20 pays les plus riches et les plus pauvres de la planète a doublé, le revenu du groupe le plus riche représentant désormais plus de 30 fois celui des plus pauvres.

Le G20, en tant que premier forum de coopération économique mondial, aborde le développement sous l’angle de la croissance économique. Celle-ci est, dans les pays en développement, le premier moteur de réduction de la pauvreté et des écarts de prospérité au niveau mondial. Elle est également fondamentale pour parvenir à remplir les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le Développement. A l’heure où les incertitudes économiques sur la croissance mondiale augmentent et les déséquilibres globaux doivent être résorbés, elle pourrait contribuer à la reprise économique globale en créant de nouveaux pôles de croissance et favoriser la réduction des déséquilibres.

Les décisions examinées et proposées par les ministres sont autant d’éléments de cet agenda. Elles visent à la fois à lever les obstacles à une croissance forte et équilibrée dans les pays en développement, notamment les pays à faible revenus, et à la construction d’une plus grande résilience de ces économies.

Parmi ces propositions, la présidence française se félicite des avancées obtenues en commun sur les deux priorités définies cette année, les infrastructures et la sécurité alimentaire, ainsi que celles identifiées en matière de protection sociale, de transferts des migrants et de finance inclusive qui concernent les populations les plus fragiles.

********

Les carences en infrastructures, en particulier dans les domaines de l’énergie et du transport, sont des obstacles majeurs à l’activité économique et au développement des pays en développement. L’insuffisance des investissements en infrastructures prive les économies de l’Afrique subsaharienne de deux points de croissance chaque année.

Afin d’améliorer la situation des pays en développement et permettre une croissance forte et partagée, en particulier des pays les plus pauvres, une approche intégrée et innovante a été adoptée débouchant sur ces propositions aux Leaders examinées par les Ministres :

(i) La mise en œuvre d’un plan d’action conjoint des Banques Multilatérales de Développement, acteurs clé dans ce domaine, a été demandée par le G 20. Le projet présenté vise à améliorer leur fonctionnement et leur capacité à financer les besoins en infrastructures par des mesures internes visant à renforcer le soutien aux projets à dimension régionale, à améliorer l’harmonisation des procédures pour faciliter les cofinancements, à rationaliser les fonds de préparation de projets. Le plan propose aussi des mesures visant à favoriser les partenariats publics-privés, à mettre en place un diagnostic plus précis des besoins prioritaires en infrastructures, à renforcer la transparence dans les marchés de construction par l’adoption d’une initiative COST inspirée du travail fait dans le domaine minier (initiative EITI).

(ii) Un Panel de Haut Niveau sur les infrastructures a été installé en début d’année. Celui-ci, présidé par Tidjane Thiam, PDG de la compagnie d’assurances Prudential et ancien Ministre du plan en Côte d’Ivoire, réunit des experts internationaux largement issus du secteur privé. Les premières orientations du rapport du panel, qui sera présenté à Cannes, visent à améliorer l’environnement des affaires pour favoriser l’investissement public et privé dans les infrastructures des pays en développement, à diversifier et augmenter les sources de financement et à développer des instruments financiers. En concertation avec les banques multilatérales de développement, le panel est chargé d’identifier des projets d’infrastructures exemplaires sur la base de critères de sélection relatifs notamment à leur portée régionale, leur effet d’entraînement sur la croissance et le développement durable, et leur attractivité pour le secteur privé.

********

Le développement du commerce et de l’intégration régionale est un élément clé pour favoriser le développement économique des pays en développement, et l’investissement privé notamment dans les pays les moins avancés (PMA). Les principales mesures proposées dans ce domaine concernent notamment l’Afrique. Elles visent à renforcer les capacités des communautés économiques régionales, soutenir le développement des capacités commerciales des pays à faibles revenus et notamment les PMA (aide au commerce, financement du commerce, facilitation du commerce et soutien à la création au sein de la BAD d’une facilité de financement du commerce).

Suite au rapport demandé aux organisations internationales, notamment les agences des Nations Unies, le groupe de la Banque mondiale et l’OCDE, il est proposé de soutenir la mise en œuvre de principes d’investissement responsables dans les PED. A ce titre, une série d’indicateurs seront expérimentés à travers des projets pilotes dans six Pays en développement visant à mesurer l’impact des projets d’investissements privés (en terme notamment de création de valeur ajoutée locale et d’emplois locaux).

Un « défi pour l’innovation » sera lancé au sommet de Cannes. Il visera à identifier et récompenser des projets d’investissement privés novateurs dans les PED.

********

La mobilisation des ressources fiscales domestiques est essentielle pour le développement des Pays en développement : financement du développement, affirmation de la démocratie et obligation des gouvernants de rendre des comptes, résilience en cas de chocs permettant aux autorités locales de bénéficier de marges de manoeuvres pour des mesures contra-cycliques, développement d’une base fiscale permettant d’assurer l’entretien des infrastructures et le recours à l’emprunt. Les mesures proposées visent à renforcer le soutien aux capacités des administrations fiscales des PED, à accroître la transparence et la redevabilité des bailleurs, des pays récipiendaires comme des firmes privées. Ainsi les entreprises multinationales sont-elles invitées à renforcer leur transparence et le respect des législations fiscales. Il est aussi proposé de soutenir le programme récemment lancé par les organisations multilatérales compétentes visant à aider les Pays en développement dans l’élaboration et l’application de leur législation, notamment en matière de prix de transferts.

Les pays du G 20 et au-delà sont encouragés à soutenir le développement de mécanismes et de standards pour renforcer la transparence sur les contributions versées aux gouvernements par les multinationales, à l’image de l’initiative EITI dans le domaine minier. Le Forum mondial fiscal est fortement invité à développer une plate-forme pour fournir une assistance technique aux Pays en développement dans le domaine de l’échange d’informations fiscales. Enfin les pays sont invités à signer la Convention sur l’assistance mutuelle administrative en matière fiscale.

********

La dramatique situation de la Corne de l’Afrique a mis en évidence, une fois de plus, les défis à relever pour assurer la sécurité alimentaire dans certaines régions du monde. En 2050, pour nourrir les 9 milliards d’habitants de la planète, il faudra doubler la production agricole dans les PED.

Constatant que le secteur agricole n’a pas reçu depuis une vingtaine d’années un soutien adéquat, il est recommandé d’augmenter l’investissement dans le secteur de l’agriculture en mobilisant la coopération internationale et les ressources budgétaires nationales comme l’investissement privé. L’objectif commun est d’augmenter la production et la productivité de l’agriculture.

A la suite de la réunion des Ministres de l’agriculture du G20 en juin dernier, les travaux dans la filière développement ont permis d'avancer sur les principaux axes suivants :

(i) Changer d’échelle dans les actions en faveur de l’amélioration de la nutrition à travers des actions ciblées mais aussi l’insertion de cette priorité dans les stratégies de réduction de la pauvreté et les politiques de développement. Par ailleurs, le renforcement des réserves alimentaires d’urgence, à l’échelon national et régional, est identifié comme un des axes pouvant permettre de réduire l’impact des crises alimentaires sur les populations les plus vulnérables, à l’image du projet pilote qui doit être conduit par la CEDEAO (Communauté Economique des Etats d’Afrique de l’Ouest) avec l’appui du Programme Alimentaire Mondial visant au développement d’un système régional de réserves alimentaire d’urgence.

(ii) Améliorer la recherche et l’innovation, à travers notamment la mise en place d’une plate-forme conjointe de recherche sur l’agriculture tropicale proposée lors de la récente conférence de Montpellier. Celle-ci doit notamment permettre de renforcer la coopération nord-sud, comme sud- sud, ainsi que la coopération triangulaire et le partage des connaissances.

(iii) Promouvoir les efforts pour développer les investissements responsables dans le domaine agricole, notamment les travaux en cours conduits dans le cadre du Comité mondial pour la Sécurité Alimentaire et par la FAO pour l’établissement de principes volontaires en matière de gestion des terres.

(iv) Finaliser au niveau des banques multilatérales de développement un plan d'action pluriannuel conjoint visant à augmenter leurs interventions dans le secteur agricole dont les premières orientations ont été présentées.

(v) Améliorer la protection des populations les plus vulnérables contre la volatilité excessive des prix au moyen de stratégies et instruments de gestion des risques tels que les prêts contra-cyclique développés par l’Agence française de développement, les instruments d’assurance et de couverture du risque (risque climat, risque-prix, récoltes et stocks). Les Banques multilatérales de développement, y compris la SFI, sont ainsi invitées à étendre ces outils et à soutenir leur insertion dans les plans d’action de développement agricole nationaux et régionaux. Il est demandé au Programme Alimentaire Mondial de développer une stratégie de couverture du lui permettant de se couvrir contre les hausses excessives de prix des denrées alimentaires.

(vi) Soutenir particulièrement les petits producteurs notamment par leur insertion dans des programmes de développement des cantines scolaires ou des partenariats publics-privés, avec une attention particulière accordée aux femmes.

(vii) Poursuivre le dialogue engagé avec le secteur privé, notamment le « World Economic Forum », pour le développement de l’investissement privé et les partenariats publics-privés dans le domaine agricole.

********

La crise économique globale a affecté de manière disproportionnée les plus vulnérables et dans un contexte de risques économiques accrus, il y a un besoin grandissant de développer des mécanismes pour offrir une meilleure protection et garantir un chemin de croissance plus inclusif.

Dans cette perspective, les propositions pour le G 20 visent notamment à :

(i) Appuyer la création ou le développement de socles nationaux de protection sociale dans les PED.

(ii) S’accorder sur un objectif commun de réduction des coûts des transferts de migrants visant à atteindre un coût moyen réduit à 5 % d’ici à 2014. La réalisation de cet objectif permettrait de dégager jusqu’à 15 milliards de dollars supplémentaires par an en faveur des populations des pays en développement.

(iii) Mettre en œuvre un plan d’action pour l’inclusion financière, comprenant des mesures clé pour favoriser l’accès au crédit des petites et moyennes entreprises, au bénéfice notamment des femmes et des petits producteurs agricoles.

********

La réunion de Washington était la première réunion du G20 sur le développement au niveau ministériel. Elle a mis notamment en lumière la valeur ajoutée du G20 dans ce domaine. Les pays du G20 se caractérisent en effet par leur diversité et la complémentarité de leurs expériences en matière de développement économique et de coopération internationale. Celles-ci seront valorisées à travers le développement de plate-formes de connaissances communes et de coopération triangulaire, notamment dans le domaine de la protection sociale, de l’agriculture et de la formation professionnelle.

Le défi du développement est une préoccupation partagée par tous les pays du G20, un engagement commun. L’objectif est de poser les jalons d’un partenariat global et novateur pour le développement, associant la société civile et le secteur privé. C’est le message que nous porterons en fin d’année lors du IVe Forum sur l’efficacité de l’aide à Busan en Corée.

Source: Ministère de l'Économie, des Finances et de l'Industrie de la République française

[retour en haut]


This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library
and the G20 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g20@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated September 24, 2011 .

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.