University of Toronto


G20 Summits |  G20 Ministerials |  G20 Analysis |  Search |  About the G20 Research Group
[English]  [Français]  [Deutsch]  [Italiano]  [Portuguesa]  [Japanese]  [Chinese]  [Korean]  [Indonesian]

Munk School of Global Affairs

G20 Information Centre
provided by the G20 Research Group


Communiqué

Réunion des ministres des finances et gouverneurs des banques centrales
Berlin, Allemagne, 15-16 décembre 1999
Version non-officielle
[English]
Désistement : Cette déclaration du G20 n'est offerte qu'à titre de service aux usagers de ce site.

Annexe : Liste des participants

  1. Les ministres des Finances et les gouverneurs des banques centrales des pays du G20 ont tenu leur réunion inaugurale les 15 et 16 décembre 1999, à Berlin, en Allemagne. La réunion était présidée par le ministre des Finances du Canada, Paul Martin, et c’est le ministre des Finances de l'Allemagne, Hans Eichel, qui a accueilli les participants. (Voir en annexe la liste des participants.)

  2. Le G20 a été mis sur pied afin d'établir un nouveau mécanisme de dialogue non formel dans le cadre du système des institutions de Bretton Woods, d'élargir les discussions sur les principaux enjeux économiques et financiers entre les économies importantes d’un point de vue institutionnel et de favoriser la collaboration en vue d'atteindre une croissance économique mondiale stable et durable, qui profite à tous.

  3. Les ministres et les gouverneurs se sont réjouis de l’amélioration des conditions économiques mondiales. Ils ont réaffirmé l’importance des progrès constants accomplis par l’Organisation mondiale du commerce au chapitre de la libéralisation multilatérale du commerce des biens et services qui pourraient profiter largement à l’économie mondiale.

  4. À cette réunion inaugurale, les ministres et les gouverneurs ont discuté du rôle et des objectifs du G20, et des façons de remédier aux principaux problèmes actuels de vulnérabilité de leur économie respective et du système financier mondial. Ils ont reconnu que de saines politiques économiques et financières nationales étaient essentielles à l’édification d’un système financier international qui soit moins enclin aux crises. Ils ont souligné l’importance de renforcer les bilans nationaux afin d’amortir les chocs imprévus. Ils ont préconisé le renforcement par étapes de la gestion de la dette publique, et une plus grande attention accordée aux répercussions de diverses politiques gouvernementales sur les décisions des entreprises privées relativement aux emprunts. Ils ont reconnu que des régimes de taux de change non viables étaient un facteur critique de vulnérabilité et qu’un taux de change et une politique monétaire stables étaient essentiels. Ils ont discuté d'un éventail de mesures stratégiques nationales possibles à adopter face aux défis de la mondialisation, et ils ont échangé des idées sur le rôle que pouvait jouer la collectivité internationale afin d’aider à réduire la vulnérabilité aux crises.

  5. Ils se sont réjouis des importants travaux effectués par les institutions de Bretton Woods et d'autres organismes en vue de l'établissement de normes et de codes internationaux dans des domaines clés dont la transparence, la diffusion des données et la politique du secteur financier. Ils se sont entendus pour dire que la mise en œuvre plus répandue de ces normes et de ces codes contribuerait à une plus grande prospérité des économies nationales et à une plus grande stabilité du système financier international. Pour faire preuve de leadership à cet égard, les ministres et les gouverneurs ont convenu d'achever les rapports de transparence et les évaluations de la stabilité du système financier dans le contexte des efforts continus déployés par le Fonds monétaire international (FMI) et la Banque mondiale afin d'améliorer ces mécanismes. Cet engagement contribuera à soutenir les mesures qui vont renforcer les pays en ce qui concerne leurs capacités, leurs institutions et leurs politiques nationales.

  6. Les membres ont demandé à leurs représentants de tenir compte des travaux actuels d’autres groupes (dont le Forum sur la stabilité financière) et d'étudier de nouvelles façons de réduire la vulnérabilité aux crises. Les représentants feront état de la progression de leurs travaux à la prochaine réunion des ministres des Finances et des gouverneurs des banques centrales des pays du G20, qui se tiendra au Canada à l'automne 2000.

[retour en haut]


Annex: List of Participants

Ministres des Finances

Gouverneurs des banques centrales

Afrique du Sud

T.A. (Trevor) Manuel
Ministre des Finances
T.T. (Tito) Mboweni
Gouverneur, Banque centrale de l'Afrique du Sud

Allemagne

Hans Eichel
Ministre des Finances
Ernst Welteke
Président, Banque fédérale allemande

Arabie saoudite

Ibrahim Abdulaziz Al-Assaf
Ministre des Finances et de l'Économie nationale
Hamad Saud Al-Sayari
Gouverneur, Agence monétaire de l'Arabie saoudite

Argentine

Sr. Jorge Remes Lenicov
Ministre de l'Économie et des Travaux et Services publics
Sr. Mario Blejer
Président, Banque centrale de la République de l'Argentine

Australie

Peter Costello
Trésorier
I.J. MacFarlane
Gouverneur, Banque de réserve de l'Australie

Brésil

Pedro Sampaio Malan
Ministre d'État - Ministère des Finances
Armínio Fraga Neto
Gouverneur, Banque centrale du Brésil

Canada

Paul Martin
Ministre des Finances et Président du G20
David Dodge
Gouverneur, Banque du Canada

Chine

Xiang Huaicheng
Ministre des Finances
Dai Xianglong
Gouverneur, Banque populaire de Chine

Corée du Sud

Jin Nyum
Ministre des Finances et de l'Économie
Chol-Hwan Chon
Gouverneur, Banque de Corée

États-Unis

Paul Henry O'Neill
Secrétaire du Trésor
Alan Greenspan
Président du Conseil des gouverneurs, Réserve fédérale américaine

France

Laurent Fabius
Ministre de l’Économie et des Finances
Jean-Claude Trichet
Gouverneur, Banque de France

Inde

Yashwant Sinha
Ministre des Finances
Bimal Jalan
Gouverneur, Banque de réserve de l'Inde

Indonésie

M. Boediono
Ministre des Finances
Sjahril Sabirin
Gouverneur, Banque de l'Indonésie

Italie

Giulio Tremonti
Ministre du Trésor et du Budget
Antonio Fazio
Gouverneur, Banque d’Italie

Japon

Masajuro Shiokawa
Ministre des Finances
Masaru Hayami
Gouverneur, Banque du Japon

Mexique

Francisco Gil Díaz
Secrétaire des Finances et du Crédit public
Guillermo Ortíz Martínez
Gouverneur, Banque du Mexique

Royaume-Uni

Gordon Brown
Chancelier de l'Échiquier
Eddie George
Gouverneur, Banque de l'Angleterre

Russie

Alexei Kudrin
Ministre des Finances
Victor Vladimirovitch Gerashchenko
Président de la Banque centrale

Turquie

Kemal Dervis
Ministre du Trésor et de la co-ordination économique
Süreyya Serdengeçti
Gouverneur, Banque centrale de la République de Turquie

Source: Gouvernement du Canada

[retour en haut]


This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library
and the G20 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g20@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated October 31, 2009 .

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.

University of Toronto


G20 Summits |  G20 Ministerials |  G20 Analysis |  Search |  About the G20 Research Group
[English]  [Français]  [Deutsch]  [Italiano]  [Portuguesa]  [Japanese]  [Chinese]  [Korean]  [Indonesian]

Munk School of Global Affairs

G20 Information Centre
provided by the G20 Research Group


Communiqué

Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors Meeting
Berlin, Germany, December 15-16, 1999
[pdf] [French]

Annex: List of Participants

G20 Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors

  1. Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors of the G20 held their inaugural meeting on December 15-16, 1999 in Berlin, Germany. The meeting was chaired by Canada’s Finance Minister, Paul Martin, and hosted by German Finance Minister Hans Eichel. (A list of participants follows).

  2. The G20 was established to provide a new mechanism for informal dialogue in the framework of the Bretton Woods institutional system, to broaden the discussions on key economic and financial policy issues among systemically significant economies and promote co-operation to achieve stable and sustainable world economic growth that benefits all.

  3. Ministers and Governors welcomed the improvement in global economic conditions. They reaffirmed the importance of continued progress by the WTO toward multilateral liberalization of trade in goods and services that would bring broad-based benefits to the global economy.

  4. Ministers and Governors at this inaugural meeting discussed the role and objectives of the G20, and ways to address the main vulnerabilities currently facing their respective economies and the global financial system. They recognized that sound national economic and financial policies are central to building an international financial system that is less prone to crises. They noted the importance of strengthening national balance sheets to help cushion against unexpected shocks. They encouraged steps to strengthen sovereign debt management, and greater attention to the impact of various government policies on the borrowing decisions of private firms. They recognized that unsustainable exchange rate regimes are a critical source of vulnerability, and that a consistent exchange rate and monetary policy is essential. They discussed a range of possible domestic policy responses to the challenges of globalization, and exchanged views on the role of the international community in helping to reduce vulnerability to crises.

  5. They welcomed the important work that has been done by the Bretton Woods institutions and other bodies toward the establishment of international codes and standards in key areas, including transparency, data dissemination, and financial sector policy. They agreed that the more widespread implementation of such codes and standards would contribute to more prosperous domestic economies and a more stable international financial system. To demonstrate leadership in this area, Ministers and Governors agreed to undertake the completion of Reports on Observance of Standards and Codes ("Transparency Reports") and Financial Sector Assessments, within the context of continuing efforts by the IMF and World Bank to improve these mechanisms. This commitment will help mobilize support for measures to strengthen domestic capacity, policies and institutions.

  6. Members of the G20 asked their Deputies to consider existing work in other fora (including the Financial Stability Forum) and to examine further ways to reduce vulnerabilities to crises. Deputies will report on their progress at the time of the next meeting of G20 Finance Ministers and Governors, to be held in Canada in autumn 2000.

[back to top]


Annex: List of Participants

Finance Ministers

Central Bank Governors

Argentina

José Luis Machinea
Ministry of the Economy and Works and Public Services
Pedro Pou
President, Central Bank of the Republic of Argentina

Australia

Peter Costello
Treasurer
I.J. MacFarlane
Governor, Reserve Bank of Australia

Brazil

Pedro Sampaio Malan
Minister of State
Ministry of Finance
Armínio Fraga Neto
Governor, Central Bank of Brazil

Canada

Paul Martin
Minister of Finance and Chair of the G20
Gordon G. Thiessen
Governor, Bank of Canada

China

Xiang Huaicheng
Minister of Finance
Dai Xianglong
Governor, People’s Bank of China

France

Christian Sautter
Minister of the Economy and Finance
Jean-Claude Trichet
Governor, Bank of France

Germany

Hans Eichel
Minister of Finance
Ernst Welteke
President, German Federal Bank

India

Yashwant Sinha
Minister of Finance
Bimal Jalan
Governor, Reserve Bank of India

Indonesia

Bambang Sudibyo
Minister of Finance
Sjahril Sabirin
Governor, Bank of Indonesia

Italy

Giuliano Amato
Minister of the Treasury and Budget
Antonio Fazio
Governor, Bank of Italy

Japan

Kiichi Miyazawa
Minister of Finance
Masaru Hayami
Governor, Bank of Japan

Korea

Bong-Kyun Kang
Minister of Finance and Economy
Chol-Hwan Chon
Governor, Bank of Korea

Mexico

José Angel Gurría Trevino
Secretary of Finance and Public Credit
Guillermo Ortiz Martínez
Governor, Bank of Mexico

Russia

Mikhail Mikhailovich Kasyanov
Minister of Finance
Victor Vladimirovitch Gerashchenko
Chairman, Central Bank

Saudi Arabia

Ibrahim Abdulaziz Al-Assaf
Minister of Finance and National Economy
Hamad Saud Al-Sayari
Governor, Saudi Arabian Monetary Agency

South Africa

T.A. (Trevor) Manuel
Minister of Finance
T.T. (Tito) Mboweni
Governor, Central Bank of South Africa

Turkey

Sümer Oral
Minister of Finance
Gazi Erçel
Governor, Central Bank of the Republic of Turkey

United Kingdom

Gordon Brown
Chancellor of the Exchequer and Chair of the International Monetary and Financial Committee of the IMF
Eddie George
Governor, Bank of England

United States

Lawrence Summers
Secretary of the Treasury
Alan Greenspan
Chair, Board of Governors, Federal Reserve System

Source: Department of Finance, Canada

[back to top]


This Information System is provided by the University of Toronto Library
and the G20 Research Group at the University of Toronto.
Please send comments to: g20@utoronto.ca
This page was last updated July 09, 2012 .

All contents copyright © 2017. University of Toronto unless otherwise stated. All rights reserved.